Blog Of Writing +1

Investing… In Writing?

We all love spending money, don’t we?

I have probably been a bit frivolous in my spending than I should be, especially with a house being built as we speak.

I love movies. I love games. I love books. I love food. I love pop vinyl figures.

All of these things above cost money and I have absolutely no trouble dropping a tonne on any of those in a heartbeat. Leatherbound book sale? Take my money! New Lord of the Rings pop vinyls? Savings be damned! Favourite restaurant Fridays? Can’t go without!

Then suddenly, my partner’s favourite author recommends a book for a budding writer such as myself and I take one look at the price tag. Fifty dollars?! Is it really worth it? But in the same breath, the Lord of the Rings Balrog pop vinyl is thirty-two dollars and I didn’t even hesitate to buy that.

Why?!

 

1qc0y0
My secret love of Beastie Boys bustin’ out…

 

Some piece of me thinks I am a huge fan of self-sabotage. I can literally justify a piece of plastic over something that will not just improve my craft, but also my understanding of the publishing industry. Even today, I was sent an email in regards to an incredible amount of savings on the Writer’s Market 2017 guide (regular fifty dollars, down to thirteen… even in US dollars, that’s huge… even with shipping) and I had to stop and think about it. I forwarded the email to my fiancee, who has been patiently listening to me talk about this book for the past six months while I toiled over the prices. Finally, I took the plunge (a deep plunge, I bought five books, roughly twenty dollars a piece).

It shouldn’t be this hard. In fact, I’m not sure why I can justify collectables over the books. I have been staring at this book for so long and have read the sample on iTunes, I could probably write it nearly word for word. In a few months I will have invested the most into my writing life that I ever have; A writing room. Originally it wasn’t a part of the house we are building but when my fiancee changed the size of our ensuite, our builder asked if there was anything else I hadn’t asked for. For roughly an extra five thousand dollars, I now have an incredible space fit for only one purpose.

In the meantime though, I am filling in many of the gaps in my world. Building a map. Creating new lore. Tying novels from different times, all together. The unsuspecting character in the prequel? Yeah, he’s suddenly an antagonist in the final novel of the next trilogy.  The protagonist from the first trilogy? Mythological figure in the second trilogy. These ties are not only something that is exciting for me as a reader, but also as a writer!

 

avggy0o_700b
Me looking for an editor…

 

The worst part is that fear we all have; That we aren’t very good at writing. I’ve sent samples of my work to a few editors, hoping that my novel would resonate with them, but to no avail. Well, at least as of this post I still haven’t heard back from any of them. I’m starting to get desperate for feedback, so much so that I’ve enlisted a guy at work to give it a crack. I’m also considering starting up a Writer’s Group once I move as there is a free community room available and I want to get feedback and get better as a writer. I’d also love to meet some local creative types, but that is all less than half a year away. So close, yet so far.

At some point, I’ll have to actually get an editor. I’m also going to have to seek out a literary agent. After that, I’m going to have to try and get published (preferably with HarperCollins). For now, I’ll just enjoy the whole creative process and wait for my Writer’s Market books to come. After all, Orson Scott Card’s book on writing Sci-Fi and Fantasy may prove quite useful before I go too far!

How’s your writing going out there in the interwebs? Also, are you published? Any thoughts and ideas would be greatly appreciated and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

